swearing-in-ceremony-of-the-modi-government in New Delhi.


New Delhi: From Ab ki baar Modi sarkar in 2014 to Phir ek baar Modi sarkar five years later, Narendra Modi kept his word as he was sworn in prime minister on Friday, slipping into a second term as skilfully as the simple but well-crafted election slogans tied his two campaigns together.
The 68-year-old BJP leader, who took oath against the magnificent backdrop of the Rashtrapati Bhavan with thousands gathered in the forecourt and millions watching on their television screens, is only the third prime minister after Jawaharlal Nehru and Indira Gandhi to return for a second successive term with a full majority,
The focus shifts almost immediately from celebrations to the challenges faced by the man who powered his party to 303 seats in the Lok Sabha.

A stuttering economy, deepening agrarian crisis, rising unemployment and a hostile Pakistan are the immediate issues that await the attention of PM Modi 2.0.

Bangalore North MP D V Sadananda Gowda, Rajya Sabha MP Nirmala Sitharaman along with Dharwad Lok Sabha member Pralhad V Joshi, and Belgaum MP Suresh Angadi were sworn in at a ceremony held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. By giving representation to Lingayats and Vokkaligas, the saffron party has tried to strike a balance in seniority, caste and region while selecting the names. Gowda was inducted as the party wanted to give representation to southern Karnataka as well as the Vokkaliga community, which primarily votes for the JD(S) and Congress. The party re-inducted Nirmala Sitharaman, Rajya Sabha member from Karnataka, who is a Brahmin. Joshi is also a Brahmin while Angadi comes from the core vote base of the BJP, Lingayats. Joshi, a former President of BJP Karnataka unit, also served as the Chairman of the Standing Committee on Petroleum and Natural Gas while Angadi served as Chairman of Committee on House which allocates accommodation to MPs. In the Modi government’s first term in office, D V Sadananda Gowda (Vokkaliga), G M Siddeshwara (Lingayat), along with Ananth Kumar (Brahmin) had found a place. Later, when the Cabinet rejig happened, Ramesh Jigajinagi, a Scheduled Caste leader, was inducted after dropping Siddeshwara. Sadananda Gowda, former Chief Minister of Karnataka, held several important portfolios in the previous government including Railways and Law and Justice and Chemical and Fertilisers. Uttara Kannada MP Anant Kumar Hegde has also not found a place. A senior-most MP, having won Lok Sabha elections consecutively for six terms, the party decided not to re-induct him as he faced the ire of party leaders as well as the opposition for his controversial statements.

Jigajinagi not re-inducted Even Jigajinagi,

who had held the portfolio of Minister of State for Drinking Water and Sanitation, was not re-inducted as the prime minister was not happy with his performance.

Full list of ministers

Prime Minister: Narendra Modi
Cabinet Ministers
Raj Nath Singh
Amit Shah
Nitin Jairam Gadkari
D. V. Sadananda Gowda
Nirmala Sitharaman
Ramvilas Paswan
Narendra Singh Tomar
Ravi Shankar Prasad
Harsimrat Kaur Badal
Thaawar Chand Gehlot
Dr. S Jaishankar
Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’
Arjun Munda
Smriti Zubin Irani
Dr. Harsh Vardhan
Prakash Javadekar
Piyush Goyal
Dharmendra Pradhan
Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi
Pralhad Joshi
Dr. Mahendra Nath Pandey
Arvind Ganpat Sawant
Giriraj Singh
Gajendra Singh Shekhawat

Ministers of State (Independent Charge)

Santosh Kumar Gangwar
Rao Inderjit Singh
Shripad Yesso Naik
Dr. Jitendra Singh
Kiren Rijiju
Prahalad Singh Patel
Raj Kumar Singh
Hardeep Singh Puri
Mansukh L. Mandaviya

Ministers of State

Faggansingh Kulaste
Ashwini Kumar Choubey
Arjun Ram Meghwal
General (Retd.) V. K. Singh
Krishan Pal
Danve Raosaheb Dadarao
G Kishan Reddy
Parshottam Rupala
Ramdas Athawale
Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti
Babul Supriyo
Sanjeev Kumar Balyan
Dhotre Sanjay Shamrao
Anurag Singh Thakur
Angadi Suresh Channabasappa
Nityanand Rai
Rattan Lal Kataria
V Muraleedharan
Renuka Singh Saruta
Som Parkash
Rameswar Teli
Pratap Chandra Sarangi
Kailash Choudhary
Deboshree Chowdhury

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s