West Indies strike, and India gives Tilak and Mukesh their T20I debuts

West Indies strike, and India gives Tilak and Mukesh their T20I debuts

Three spinners were sent in by Hardik Pandya on a dry Tarouba pitch.

west indies

West Indies choose to bat against India after winning the toss.

In the first T20I of the series against India in Tarouba, West Indies won the toss and elected to bat. Rovman Powell came back to lead West Indies’ T20I team after being benched for the final two ODIs of this trip. Both Nicholas Pooran and Jason Holder, who had withdrawn from the ODI leg, were added back to the starting XI.


Tilak Varma, a hitter, and Mukesh Kumar, a pitcher, made their T20I debuts for India. Avesh Khan and Umran Malik were passed over in favor of Mukesh, while Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav were reunited. The third spin-bowling option for India on a dry Tarouba track was Axar Patel. The only spinner selected by West Indies was Akeal Hosein, who recently returned from the Major League Cricket T20 event that took place in the United States. Roston Chase, an all-around offspin bowler, was unable to play.

west indies vs india

Ishan Kishan and Shubman Gill were scheduled to start the batting for India, who were able to re-incorporate Sanju Samson into their lineup.

Obed McCoy, a West Indies seamer, makes his national team debut after missing the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia due to injury. India could be in danger from his left arm’s angle and fluctuations. He recorded career-best statistics of 6 for 17 against the same opposition in Basseterre last year.

INDIA india vs west indies west indies west indies vs india

India is playing in its 200th T20I. More T20Is have been played by Pakistan (223) than by India (224).

Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Johnson Charles (wk), Nicholas Pooran, and Shimron Hetmyer are the top five players for the West Indies. 6 Rovman Powell, the captain 8 Jason Holder, 7 Romario Shepherd Obed McCoy, 9 Akeal Hosein, 10 Alzarri Joseph, and 11

Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, and Hardik Pandya are the top five players for India. Samson Sanju, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, and Mukesh Kumar round out the top seven.

1 thought on “West Indies strike, and India gives Tilak and Mukesh their T20I debuts”

Leave a Comment